Georgia Gwinnett Wins Ninth-Straight NAIA Men's Tennis Title

Georgia Gwinnett Wins Ninth-Straight NAIA Men's Tennis Title

Mobile, Ala. – (Bracket | Schedule) For the ninth consecutive time, the 2023 NAIA Men’s Tennis National Championship trophy is heading to Lawrenceville, Ga. as the Grizzlies defeated Tennessee Wesleyan, 4-0.

With the win, the Grizzlies have tied former-NAIA member Auburn Montgomery (Ala.) for the second most men’s tennis titles of all time. Former-NAIA member Redlands (Calif.) leads with 11.

The Grizzlies won the all-important doubles point winning at No. 1 (7-5) and No. 2 (6-1). The Bulldogs won No. 3 (6-2).

In singles action, Dhaksineswar Suresh (6-3, 6-3), Santiago Villarruel (6-4, 6-4) and Leonardo Sprovieri (6-3, 6-4) all won for Georgia Gwinnett.

Alex Gurmendi of Georgia Gwinnett was named Ward-Ballinger Outstanding Player after going 3-0 at No. 1 singles and 4-0 at No. 1 doubles. The Ward-Ballinger Outstanding Player is presented annually to the individual in the tournament who has exhibited outstanding play, leadership and sportsmanship.

For the first time in her career, Grizzlies head coach Hannah Keeling was named NAIA Men’s Tennis Coach of the Year. She won the same award on the women’s side.

Championship Information

NAIA Men's Tennis Championships


May 14 - 18, 2024
Mobile Tennis Center
Mobile, Ala.