2022-23 Women's Cross Country Runners of the Week

2022-23 Women's Cross Country Runners of the Week

Runners of the week are evaluated on their performance during the week prior to the announcement. Each runner is selected out of a pool of conference award winners.


Quick Find: Week 1 | Week 2 | Week 3 | Week 4 | Week 5 | Week 6 | Week 7 | Week 8 


Week 8 (October 26)

Runner of the Week: Addy Wiley, Huntington (Ind.)

   Addy ran a PR and was 23 seconds ahead of the 2nd place finisher.

Nominees: Ellie Dimond, William Woods (Mo.); Alyssa Campbell, Point Park (Pa.); Lina May, William Carey (Miss.); Morgan Lawson , Grand View (Iowa); Cydney Stevenson, USC Beaufort (S.C.); Jessica Kampman, Dordt (Iowa); Julia Rohm, Southeastern (Fla.); Hope Ahnfeldt, John Brown (Ark.); India Mastin, Xavier (La.); Meredith Johnson, Lindsey Wilson (Ky.); Ana Mendoza Pineda, St. Francis (Ill.); Addy Wiley, Huntington (Ind.); Kayla Clayton, Southern Oregon; Sydney Little Light, Rocky Mountain (Mont.); Ellen Mary Kearney, Milligan (Tenn.); Anna Martin, Cornerstone (Mich.); Madison Nelson , Bellevue (Neb.); Riley Hiebert, Saint Mary (Kan.)


Week 7 (October 19)

Runner of the Week: Morgan Forney, Mount Vernon Nazarene (Ohio)

   Forney won the Jenna Strong Fall Classic with a time of 18:59.9.

Nominees: Olivia Cisco, Rio Grande (Ohio); Madison Nelson, Bellevue (Neb.); Veronica Pinkerton, Hastings (Neb.); Bonita Gray, Oklahoma Panhandle State; Ashlynn Perkins, Graceland (Iowa); Ellyse Tingelstad, College of Idaho; Riley Jo Ford, Dalton State (Ga.); Caroline Giles, Friends (Kan.); Lilly Garnsey, Iowa Wesleyan; Dyllan Hasler, Thomas More (Ky.); Molly Harding, Aquinas (Mich.); Morgan Forney, Mount Vernon Nazarene (Ohio)


Week 6 (October 12)

Runner of the Week: Sydney Little Light, Rocky Mountain (Mont.)

  Little Light set a 40-second personal best by breaking the 17-minute mark in her individual victory over a field of DII runners in the Yellowjacket/Battlin' Bears Open.

Nominees: Addi Dewey, Indiana Wesleyan; Mia Reed, Missouri Baptist; Ellen Mary Kearney, Milligan (Tenn.); Nadia Sifuentes, Our Lady of the Lake (Texas); Lina May, William Carey (Miss.); Geraldin Correa, Lewis-Clark State (Idaho); Julia Rohm, Southeastern (Fla.); Sydney Little Light, Rocky Mountain (Mont.); Breanna Alderton, Brescia (Ky.); Olivia Mathis, Lourdes (Ohio); Jessica Kampman, Dordt (Iowa); Jacey Schickel, Olivet Nazarene (Ill.); Morgan Lawson , Grand View (Iowa); Hannah Fredericks, The Master's (Calif.); Meredith Johnson, Lindsey Wilson (Ky.); Reagan Hiebert, Saint Mary (Kan.); Madelyn Adam, Viterbo (Wis.); Hope Ahnfeldt, John Brown (Ark.); Kiara Iron Heart, Haskell (Kan.)


 Week 5 (October 5)

Runner of the Week: Addy Wiley, Huntington (Ind.)

   It was Addy's 5K debut. Eight seconds separated her from the 2nd place finisher.

Nominees: Deandra Ibarra, Our Lady of the Lake (Texas); Casey Lechner, IU-Kokomo (Ind.); Christy Shank, Campbellsville (Ky.); Ellie Dimond, William Woods (Mo.); Madison Nelson, Bellevue (Neb.); Sage Martin, College of Idaho; Hope Ahnfeldt, John Brown (Ark.); Jessica Kampman, Dordt (Iowa); Addy Wiley, Huntington (Ind.); Riley Hiebert, Saint Mary (Kan.); Anna Martin, Cornerstone (Mich.); Catherine Truemper, Blue Mountain (Miss.); Caroline Cobo, Benedictine (Kan.); Ana Mendoza Pineda, St. Francis (Ill.); Savannah Campbell, Truett-McConnell (N.C.); Maryam Abreu, Florida National



Week 4 (September 28)

Runner of the Week: Alyssa Campbell, Point Park (Pa.)


This was a 6K race, and her time in this race was better than what many RSC runners do in a 5K. Very competitive field at an NCAA DII meet at Lock Haven.


Nominees: Mia Reed, Missouri Baptist; Tiajhae Nez, Haskell Indian Nations (Kan.); Madison Nelson, Bellevue (Neb.); Adeline Smith, St. Ambrose (Iowa); Morgan Lawson, Grand View (Iowa); Kathryn Vradenburgh, Dalton State (Ga.); Alyssa Campbell, Point Park (Pa.); Kylahn Freiberg, Concordia (Neb.); Deandra Ibarra, Our Lady of the Lake (Texas); Sydney Little Light, Rocky Mountain (Mont.); Kira Morrow, Oregon Tech; Ellen Mary Kearney, Milligan (Tenn.); Marie Sarays Flores Lebron, Texas Wesleyan; Maria Geesaman, York (Neb.); Olivia Barksdale, Tennessee Southern; Julia Rohm, Southeastern (Fla.)


Week 3 (September 21)

Runner of the Week: Lina May, William Carey (Miss.)


In a field consisting of mostly NCAA I runners, Lina set a new school record and personal best to finish 18 overall.


Nominees: Jenna Mallory, Montreat (N.C.); Hannah Fredericks, The Master's (Calif.); Ellyse Tingelstad, College of Idaho; Hailey Nielson, Montana Tech; Alicia Engelbrecht, William Woods (Mo.); Madison Nelson, Bellevue (Neb.); Tiajhae Nez, Haskell (Kan.); Carmen Camino Falcon, WVU Tech (W. Va.); Sharon Koima, Oklahoma City; Catherine White, Olivet Nazarene (Ill.); Montserrat De Santiago, SCAD Savannah (Ga.); Shelby Christman, Huntington (Ind.); Danielle Allison, Tabor (Kan.); Emily Bird, Cumberlands (Ky.); Caroline Cobo, Benedictine (Kan.); Kylahn Freiberg, Concordia (Neb.); Mercy Kimaiyo, Texas A&M-Texarkana; Hannah Adler, Aquinas (Mich.)


Week 2 (September 14)

Runner of the Week: Noel VanderWall, Taylor (Ind.)


Competing in her first collegiate race, VanderWall won the IWU Twilight with the fourth fastest time in program history (17:51.60).


Nominees: Meredith Johnson, Lindsey Wilson (Ky.); Kayla Clayton, Southern Oregon; Kassidy Villalobos, Texas A&M-Texarkana; Carmen Camino Falcon, WVU Tech (W. Va.); Emily Haverdink, Northwestern (Iowa); Malarie Pinwar, Cornerstone (Mich.); Grace Timm, Dickinson State (S.D.); Deanna Newhouse, Mount Mercy (Iowa); Ellyce Mares, McPherson (Kan.); Adeline Smith, St. Ambrose (Iowa); Lilly Garnsey, Iowa Wesleyan; Kaylee Lambe, Lyon (Ark.); Savannah Campbell, Truett McConnell (Ga.); Darcy Picker, Life (Ga.); Noel VanderWall, Taylor (Ind.)


Week 1 (September 7)

Runner of the Week: Caitlin Dominy, Milligan (Tenn.)


Ran a personal best time and recorded the No. 9 XC 5k time in team history. Only non-Division-I runner in the top 10. Buffs finished fourth in 13 team field, ahead of teams from the AAC (Louisville), Big South, OVC and SoCon.


Nominees: Lina May, William Carey (Miss.); Tiajhae Nez, Haskell (Kan.); Ellyse Tingelstad, College of Idaho; Shelby Christman, Huntington (Ind.); Ashlyn Liddle, Cumberlands (Ky.); Alyssa Armendariz, Saint Mary (Kan.); Emily Haverdink, Northwestern (Iowa); Jada O'Donnell, Columbia (Mo.); Deanna Newhouse, Mount Mercy (Iowa); Hannah Sumner, Lindsey Wilson (Ky.); Aliyah Perez, Lourdes (Ohio); Deandra Ibarra, Our Lady of the Lake (Texas); Abigael Coyle, St. Mary-of-the-Woods (Ind.); Sharon Koima, Oklahoma City; Bailey Wilk, St. Francis (Ill.); Julia Rohm, Southeastern (Fla.)


2021-22 Women's Cross Country Players of the Week
2020-21 Women's Cross Country Players of the Week

Championship Information

NAIA Women's Cross Country Championship


November 22, 2024
Columbia, Missouri