Georgia Gwinnett Claims 2023 NAIA Women's Tennis National Title

Georgia Gwinnett Claims 2023 NAIA Women's Tennis National Title

MOBILE, Ala. – (Bracket | Schedule) The Grizzlies of Georgia Gwinnett claimed the 2023 NAIA Women’s Tennis National Championship with a 4-1 win against Keiser (Fla.).

Georgia Gwinnett has now won eight NAIA Women’s Tennis National Championships and seven-straight.

The Grizzlies got off to a fast start winning at No. 1 doubles (7-5), with the clinching point at No. 2 doubles (6-4). Keiser took No. 3 doubles with a 6-3 score.

In singles action, Georgia Gwinnett won at No. 3, 4 and 6. The title clinching point came from Tereza Koplova in the No. 3 spot as she won 6-4, 6-2.

Keiser’s lone point came at No.1 singles with Elyse Lavender winning 6-1, 6-1.

Justine Lespes of Georgia Gwinnett was the receipient of the Marvin P. Richmond Outstanding Player. Lespes went 3-0 at No. 2 singles and 1-0 at No. 1 doubles. She had four matches that went unfinished. The Marvin P. Richmond award is presented annually to the individual in the tournament who has exhibited outstanding play, leadership and sportsmanship. The award is named after the former president of the USTA and long-time supporter of NAIA tennis, Marvin P. Richmond.

In her first year at the helm, Head coach Hannah Keeling was named Coach of the Year after leading the Grizzles to the team title. Georgia Gwinnett now has eight NAIA Women’s Tennis Coach of the Year awards.



Championship Information

NAIA Women's Tennis Championship


May 14 - 18, 2024
Mobile Tennis Center
Mobile, Ala.