NAIA Division II Women’s Basketball All-America Teams Announced

Women's Basketball - Southeastern University

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – The National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) announced the 2020 Division II Women’s Basketball All-America teams on Thursday. Taylah Simmons, junior forward for Southeastern (Fla.) was named NAIA National Player of the Year.

In just her first season with the Fire, Simmons earned both All-America First Team honors as well as the distinction of being named the national player of the year. This season, the Melbourne, Australia native was ranked No. 1 in the nation in scoring average per game with 24 points per game on the season. Simmons was a critical part to the success of Southeastern women’s basketball. The forward led the nation in total points with 720 this season. She averaged 59.4 percent from the field.

Philly Lammers of Concordia (Neb.) and Kynedi Cheeseman of Dakota Wesleyan (S.D.) were the lone two that appeared as All-America First Team selections in 2019 and this season.

Shandra Farmer of Hastings (Neb.) and Kaitlyn Aylward of St. Francis (Ill.) both made the jump from second team in 2019 to first team this season, while Sarah Fryman of Huntington (Ind.) and Becca Buchs of Taylor (Ind.) both earned a spot on the first team after being named an honorable mention a year ago.

Head Coach Katie Gearlds of Marian (Ind.) was named NAIA Division II Women’s Basketball Coach of the Year. Coach Gearlds led the Knights to a No. 2 ranking in the final poll of the season and a 31-3 overall record. Gearlds has led two teams to a red banner previously at Marian, both in 2016 and 2017.

FIRST TEAM          
Name School Hometown Position Class Ht.
Philly Lammers ^ Concordia (Neb.) Omaha, Neb. Center SR 5-11
Kynedi Cheeseman ^ Dakota Wesleyan (S.D.) Alexandria, S.D. Guard SR 5-9
Shandra Farmer & Hastings (Neb.) Hastings, Neb. Guard SR 5-3
Sarah Fryman * Huntington (Ind.) Huntington, Ind. Forward SR 5-9
Morgan McKinney Northwest Christian (Ore.) Lake Oswego, Ore. Guard JR 5-9
Peyton Banks Siena Heights (Mich.) Wadsworth, Ohio Forward SO 5-11
Taylah Simmons Southeastern (Fla.) Melbourne, Australia Forward JR 6-1
Kaitlin Aylward & St. Francis (Ill.) Elmwood Park, Ill. Center SR 6-0
Becca Buchs * Taylor (Ind.) Angola, Ind. Forward SR 5-11
Brooke Hammonds Union (Ky.) Pennington Gap, Va. Forward JR 5-10
SECOND TEAM          
Name School Hometown Position Class Ht.
Chinna Fair Antelope Valley (Calif.) Midwest, Okla. Guard JR 5-10
Grace Barry Concordia (Neb.) Lincoln, Neb. Guard SR 5-7
Jordan Woodvine ^ Corban (Ore.) Salem, Ore. Forward SR 5-11
Kendall Fisher Lawrence Tech (Mich.) Indianapolis, Ind. Guard SO 5-2
Abby Downard Marian (Ind.) Avon, Ind. Guard JR 5-7
Kylee Heurung Mayville State (N.D.) Brainerd, Minn. Forward JR 5-10
Sammy Stejskal Olivet Nazarene (Ill.) Arlington Heights, Ill. Guard SR 5-10
Chanel Fanter * Saint Xavier (Ill.) Crystal Lake, Ill. Forward SR 5-10
Kylah Comley & Sterling (Kan.) Sterling, Kan. Guard JR 5-4
Brittney Justice WVU Tech (W.Va.) Danese, W.Va. Guard JR 5-7
THIRD TEAM          
Name School Hometown Position Class Ht.
Abby Oliver College of the Ozarks (Mo.) Strafford, Mo. Guard JR 5-6
Sarah Carr & Dakota Wesleyan (S.D.) Huron, S.D. Forward SR 6-0
Erika Feenstra & Dordt (Iowa) Hull, Iowa Forward JR 6-0
DeAnn Kauffman * Indiana Tech Williamsburg, Ind. Forward SR 5-11
Kelcey Hinz Kansas Wesleyan Whitewater, Kan. Forward SO 6-1
Sierra Mitchell * Morningside (Iowa) Pleasant Hill, Iowa Guard JR 5-6
Demi Russell Siena Heights (Mich.) Toledo, Ohio Forward SR 5-11
Marlena Schmidt Southeastern (Fla.) Eighty Four, Pa. Center SR 6-6
Kylie Wroblewski St. Ambrose (Iowa) Bettendorf, Iowa Forward FR 6-2
Mia Belvin % UC Merced (Calif.) Long Beach, Calif. Guard SR 5-7
^ 2019 1st Team AA          
& 2019 2nd Team AA          
% 2019 3rd Team AA          
* 2019 Hon. Mention          
Name School Position      
Sarah Miller Ave Maria (Fla.) Forward      
Elexis Martinez Bellevue (Neb.) Forward      
McKenzie Alton Benedictine-Mesa (Ariz.) Guard      
Abby Schmidt Bethel (Kan.) Center      
Kaitlynn Hennessee Bryan (Tenn.) Guard      
Deandra Luna Bryan (Tenn.) Guard      
Annie Noah College of the Ozarks (Mo.) Forward      
Jessi Giles Dakota State (S.D.) Guard      
Jane Nelson Eastern Oregon Guard      
Danae Ruiz Embry-Riddle (Ariz.) Guard      
Vironnica Drake Grace (Ind.) Guard      
Gabby Grasso Hastings (Neb.) Forward      
Tianna Ayulo Johnson & Wales (Fla.) Forward      
Erynn Young Lincoln (Ill.) Forward      
Imani Guy Marian (Neb.) Forward      
Brittany Roberts McPherson (Kan.) Forward      
Ro'Zhane Wells Michigan-Dearborn Guard      
Taylor Gregory Mount Vernon Nazarene (Ohio) Forward      
Sammy Blum Northwestern (Iowa) Guard      
Tori Lennartz Northwestern Ohio Guard      
Staci Dinsmore-Pertuset Ohio Christian Guard      
Bethany Headrick Reinhardt (Ga.) Guard      
Catherine Shope Reinhardt (Ga.) Guard      
Sydney Holden Rio Grande (Ohio) Guard      
Deesha Brefford Robert Morris (Ill.) Guard      
Lexey Tobel Rochester (Mich.) Guard      
Lauren McBryar Saint Francis (Ind.) Guard      
Claire Austin Saint Xavier (Ill.) Forward      
Maddie Welter Saint Xavier (Ill.) Guard      
Abby Buchs Taylor (Ind.) Guard      
Mackenzie Huber Valley City State (N.D.) Center      
Gabby Bruno Warner Pacific (Ore.) Guard      

Championship Information

NAIA DII Women's Basketball Championship

March 11-17, 2020
Tyson Events Center 
Sioux City, Iowa