2023 NAIA Men’s Indoor Track & Field National Championship – Day 2 Recap

2023 NAIA Men’s Indoor Track & Field National Championship – Day 2 Recap

BROOKINGS, S.D. – Six national titles were crowned on the second day of the 2023 NAIA Men’s Indoor Track & Field National Championships Friday at Sanford-Jackrabbit Athletic Complex.  The 58th annual running of the men’s indoor track & field national meet is hosted by Dakota State (S.D.).


  • Cole Wilson of Keiser (Fla.) maintained his lead in the heptathlon from day one, finishing with 5,347 points to win the national title.  It is the second time in the last three years that a Keiser individual won the national heptathlon title.
  • Three heptathlon athletes from South Dakota’s institutions finished in the next three spots.  Treshawn Roberts of Dakota State finished as a runner-up with 5,174 points.  Mason Schleis of Mount Marty was third with 5,104 points followed by his teammate Seth Wiebelhaus fourth with 4,949 points.
  • Jordan Crawford became the fourth Missouri Baptist to win the 3000-meter racewalk, the first time since 2015 (Nick Christie).  Crawford finished with a time of 12 minutes, 54.85 seconds in the race.
  • Three Doane (Neb.) throwers dominated the weight throw event by placing in the top four, highlighted by Matthew Campbell who won his third straight national title with a toss of 20.65 meters (67 feet, 9 feet).
  • It was the first time since 1988-90 that a weight thrower won the national title for three consecutive years (Ade Olukoji of Azusa Pacific, Calif.).
  • The Tigers piled up 21 points to maintain their early lead throughout the second day after six events scored.
  • Keiser is second with 16 points in the team standings, followed by Friends (Kan.) third with 15 points, Midland (Neb.) fourth with 14 points, and Graceland (Iowa) fifth with 12 points.
  • Nine running events semifinals took place Friday.
  • Jason Bowers of Cumberland (Tenn.) edged Dean Reynolds of Spring Arbor (Mich.) in a close 1-mile semifinals race in the second heat by .51 seconds difference.
  • Three Southeastern (Fla.) hurdlers secured a spot in the 60-meter hurdles finals, highlighted by a pair of athletes placing in the top two.  Davonte Vanterpool led the Fire with a time of 7.833 seconds, while his teammate was second with 7.837 seconds. 
  • The Fire also had the top semifinal time in the 400-meter dash by Joseph Taylor with a time of 47.39 seconds.
  • Jacob Ulrich claimed the top semifinal time in the 600-meter dash in 1 minute, 18.31 seconds.  Dylan Felger of Huntington (Ind.), the 2022 defending champion in the 600-meters, finished fifth in the semifinals in 1:19.75.
  • Donte Sol paced Multnomah (Ore.) with a time of 6.62 seconds in the 60-meter dash semifinals.
  • Zephania Cuico-McLennan of Huston-Tillotson (Texas) edged Tommee Smith of Spring Arbor (Mich.) for the fastest time in the 800-meter run by .13 seconds difference.
  • The running events concluded with Grace (Ind.) winning their first-ever 4 x 800-meter relay national title in program history.  The team of Bryan Hernandez, Dimitri Margaritidis, Tanner Sallee, and Logan Rufenacht clocked a time of 7 minutes, 33.70 seconds in the race.
  • Michael Millslagle of Graceland (Neb.) defeated two-time defending champion Shandon Reitzell of Midland (Neb.) in the high jump.  Millslagle cleared the height of 2.13 meters (6 feet, 11.75 inches) to win the first men’s individual national title in program history.
  • William Jones of Life leaped 7.51 meters (24 feet, 7.75 inches) to win the long jump national title.

There will be a total of 15 national titles to be crowned on Championship Day Saturday afternoon.  The final day of the 2023 national meet kicks off at 12:35 p.m. with the 1-mile run.  The field events start with the pole vault at 1:15 p.m.


The NAIA Championship Ceremonies are scheduled to start at 12 noon (Central Time).  After the conclusion of the national meet, the awards ceremony will be held at 5:30 p.m. (CT).


Championship Information

NAIA Indoor Track & Field Championship


February 29 - March 2, 2024
Sanford Jackrabbit Athletic Complex
Brookings, S.D.