Lawrence Tech (Mich.) wins 2023 NAIA Men's Bowling National Championship

Lawrence Tech (Mich.) wins 2023 NAIA Men's Bowling National Championship

STERLING HEIGHTS, Mich. – [BRACKET RESULTS] - The 2023 NAIA Men's Bowling Red Banner will stay local as hosting Lawrence Tech University won 3-1 over Marian (Ind.) to claim the title (216-239, 224-214, 193-139, 236-215).

Round Six Highlights

  • Top seeded Indiana Tech won in quick 3-0 succession behind a third game with strikes on eight of the 10 frames
  • St. Xavier, sixth after Baker Play, finishes their season in fourth place at the national championships

Round Seven Highlights

  • Hometown Lawrence Tech (Mich.) waited in the wings to play the winner of the previous round
  • The Wolverine Hoosier conferences foes matched up with a berth in the championship round on the line
  • During the WHAC conference championship, the Warriors finished first edging out LTU in the semifinal round

Championship Highlights

  • No. 4 Marian (Ind.) pulled two upsets yesterday to book their ticket to the championship game
  • In the double-elimination format, the Knights needed to win one of the two possible matches today to claim the Red Banner
  • LTU shot out of the gates in Game One, but Marian recorded a strike in the final throw of the game to win 203-201
  • The Blue Devils tied the match behind seven strikes, taking Game Two 232-198
  • In the 10 frame, Marian had a chance to close the door on the game but a seven gave LTU a chance; On the first throw for Lawrence Tech, two pins remained which broke their attempt at stringing together four consecutive strikes for the win
  • Seizing the opportunity in the fifth game, the Blue Devils were victorious 209-160 to force the “if necessary game for the title
  • Marian started their final match of the year with eight strikes to take a 239-216 win
  • The Blue Devils strung together five strikes to win by 10 in Game Two
  • Both teams struggled a bit in the third set, as they were unable to string as many strikes together; LTU was able to take the game 193-139
  • Lawrence Tech ended the fourth game with six consecutive strikes and earned some hardware in the process
  • This marks the second year in a row in which the National Champion earned the four victories Saturday to claim the crown

All-Tournament Team

MVP – Jacob Kujawa of Lawrence Tech (Mich.)

Christian Moore-Randle of Saint Xavier (Ill.)

Parker Laubach of Indiana Tech

Dylan Mollo of Marian (Ind.)

Connor Nowak of Lawrence Tech (Mich.)

Championship Information



March 21-23, 2024