Qualifiers for 2020 Competitive Dance Championship Announced

Qualifiers for 2020 Competitive Dance Championship Announced

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – The National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) officially announced the qualifiers for the 2020 Competitive Dance National Championship. The 12-team competition will get underway with preliminaries on March 13.

This year's field includes five automatic qualifiers and seven at-large bids. The automatic qualifiers are determined by the winners of the qualifiers. At-Large positions will be awarded to the teams with the seven highest Year End Scores that did not receive an automatic bid. Year End Scores are calculated by taking 40% of a team's season average plus 60% of a team's average qualifier score. St. Ambrose (Iowa) qualified as both the host and Northeast Qualifier Champion, which allowed for the seventh at-large berth. Click here for a breakdown of the selection process.

Qualifier Highlights

  • Defending national champions, Midland (Neb.) will return to the 2020 championship earning an automatic bid as the Northwest Qualifier Champion.
  • The Warriors of Midland (Neb.) have won two titles of the three competitive dance national championships: in 2017 and 2019.
  • The Northeast Qualifier Champion, St. Ambrose is the only other team with a title, winning the championship in 2018.
  • 11 of the 12 qualifiers from the 2019 Competitive Dance Championship return to the big stage this year.
  • Eight of the 12 teams have qualified for all four competitive dance championships: Aquinas (Mich.), Baker (Kan.), Grand View (Iowa), Midland (Neb.), Morningside (Iowa), Oklahoma City, Siena Heights (Mich.) and St. Ambrose (Iowa).
  • Missouri Baptist returns to the championship for the second time with the first being in 2017.
Institution Qualification Appearances Last Time Titles
Aquinas (Mich.) At-Large Bid 4 2019 0
Baker (Kan.) Midwest Qualifier 4 2019 0
Grand View (Iowa) At-Large Bid 4 2019 0
Loyola (La.) At-Large Bid 3 2019 0
Midland (Neb.) Northwest Qualifier Champion 4 2019 2
Missouri Baptist At-Large Bid 2 2017 0
Morningside (Iowa) At-Large Bid 4 2019 0
Mount Mercy (Iowa) At-Large Bid 2 2019 0
Oklahoma City Southwest Qualifier Champion 4 2019 0
Point Park (Pa.) Southeast Qualifier Champion 3 2019 0
Siena Heights (Mich.) At-Large Bid 4 2019 0
St. Ambrose (Iowa) Northeast Qualifier Champion 4 2019 1

Competition will begin on March 13 in Lee Lohman Arena on the campus of St. Ambrose University (Iowa).Teams at the Competitive Cheer and Dance National Championships will be competing on a level playing field as regular season and qualifier scores are not taken into consideration during the championships. 

Schedule of events CLICK HERE

Competitive dance All-Americans will be announced on Tuesday, March 3rd at noon central time.

Championship Information

NAIA Cheer & Dance Championship

March 11-12, 2022
Ypsilanti, Michigan