2020 Men’s Cross Country National Championship Preview

2020 Men’s Cross Country National Championship Preview

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – The 2020 Men’s Cross Country National Championship will take place in Cedar Rapids, Iowa on April 9.

Championship Preview Highlights

  • We will see 36 teams and 96 individuals at the 65th Annual Men’s Cross Country National Championship.
  • This is the second year that the championship has been hosted in Cedar Rapids, Iowa.
  • Mount Mercy University (Iowa) serves as the host for the championship.
  • The 8k race will start at 11:30 a.m. at the Seminole Valle Cross Country Course.
  • The race will be streamed live for the first time this year and can be found HERE
  • The timer will be sending live results HERE. Keep in mind these results are not finalized until after the review period.
  • The 2019 men’s cross country national champion, Oklahoma City, returns to the championship and enters the field at No. 6 in the latest Top 25 poll.
  • The 2019 individual champion, Mark Shaw or Oklahoma City, is not returning to the 2020 championship as he graduated after last season.
  • There are five teams attending the national championship that have 10 or more appearances since 2010: College of Idaho, Lewis-Clark State (Idaho), St. Francis (Ill.), The Master’s (Calif.) and Aquinas (Mich.)
  • There are four teams attending the national championship for the first time since 2010: Grand View (Iowa), Philander Smith (Ark.), Southeastern (Fla.) and Spring Arbor (Mich.)
  • The NAIA meet record for the 8k is 23:14.0 set by Silah Misoi of Life (Ga.) in 1996.

Team Participation from 2010-2020

School  Appearances
Aquinas (Mich.) 10
Baker (Kan.) 5
Carroll (Mont.) 4
College of Idaho 11
Columbia (Mo.) 8
Cornerstone (Mich.) 7
Dakota State (S.D) 3
Doane (Neb.) 2
Dordt (Iowa) 4
Embry-Riddle (Ariz.) 7
Friends (Kan.) 3
Goshen (Ind.) 3
Grand View (Iowa) 1
Huntington (Ind.) 3
Indiana Wesleyan 9
Lewis-Clark State (Idaho) 11
Loyola (La.) 2
Milligan (Tenn.) 5
Montreat (N.C.) 3
Mount Mercy (Iowa) 6
Northwest (Wash.) 2
Northwestern (Iowa) 4
Oklahoma City 8
Oregon Tech 6
Philander Smith (Ark.) 1
Point Park (Pa.) 2
Rocky Mountain (Mont.) 4
Shawnee State (Ohio) 8
Southeastern (Fla.) 1
Spring Arbor (Mich.) 1
St. Francis (Ill.) 11
St. Mary (Kan.) 4
Taylor (Ind.) 7
The Masters (Calif.) 11
William Carey (Mich.) 3
WVU Tech (W.Va.) 3

Championship Information