Vikings Win First Red Banner in Program History

Vikings Win First Red Banner in Program History

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – [Final Site Schedule] [Bracket] No. 4 Missouri Valley secures its first Red Banner after defeating No. 2 Oklahoma Wesleyan. After 90 minutes of play, the Vikings overcame the Eagles by two goals winning the national title, 2-0. 

Kainan Dos Santos scored both goals for the Vikings, ultimately securing him the 2020 NAIA Outstanding Offensive Player of the Year and All-Tournament Teams honors. Late in the 38th minute, Dos Santos scored the first goal of the match. After missing his first attempt at left post, he rebounded pushing past the keeper to put a point on the board. Dos Santos then secured the win in the 86th minute by playing in a shot to the right corner of the goal from 12 yards out. He was assisted by Paulo Alves and Aleksandar Trujic. Dos Santos finishes the season with 18 goals and 43 total points, including five goals and four assists during the National Tournament. 

Four Vikings were named to the All-Tournament Team - Luka Gluscevic, Dos Santos, Trujic, and Gianmarco Donnini. Donnini was awarded the Most Outstanding Defender of the Tournament, while Gluscevic was named the Most Outstanding Player of the Tournament. 

The win completes the season record for Missouri Valley at 18-4-2 to end the season, and Oklahoma Wesleyan falls to 21-3-1.

Missouri Valley is now 1-2 all-time in the National Championship match. Head Coach Vladimir Simic wins his first National Championship title and now has a 20-8-2 overall record in the National Tournament in 10 appearances.

After the match, the 2020 NAIA Men’s Soccer National Championship All-Tournament Team was announced.


2020 NAIA Men’s Soccer All-Tournament Team

Alex Vidizzoni – Oklahoma Wesleyan

Stefano Camerlengo – Central Methodist (Mo.)

Julio Belo – Oklahoma Wesleyan

Gianmarco Donnini – Missouri Valley

Juan Manuel Collazo – St. Thomas (Fla.)

Alexander Mirkovic – Cumberlands (Ky.)

Stefan Lukic – Oklahoma Wesleyan

Luka Gluscevic – Missouri Valley

Antonio Aranda – Columbia (Mo.)

Sergio Infantes Castell – Cumberlands (Ky.)

Kainan Dos Santos – Missouri Valley

David Ibramkadic – Lindsey Wilson (Ky.)

Lucas Jacobs – Keiser (Fla.)

Aleksandar Trujic – Missouri Valley


Outstanding Player Awards

Kainan Dos Santos, Missouri Valley – Most Outstanding Offensive Player

Gianmarco Donnini, Missouri Valley – Most Outstanding Defensive Player

Luka Gluscevic, Missouri Valley – Most Valuable Player

Championship Information

men's soccer


Nov. 30-Dec. 6, 2021
Jack Allen Soccer Complex
Decatur, Ala.

Opening Rounds
November 18-20, 2021
Campus Sites