2019 NAIA Football Players of the Week – Week Nine

2019 NAIA Football Players of the Week – Week Nine

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – Hayden Gibson of Dickinson State (N.D.) has been named the NAIA National Football Offensive Player of the Week and Cameron Lauck of Indiana Wesleyan has been named the NAIA National Football Defensive Player of the Week and Ben Vongunten of Indiana Wesleyan has been named the NAIA National Football Special Teams Player of the Week, the National office announced Monday. The three student-athletes were nominated for their performances during the week of October 28 – November 3 and were selected out of a pool of conference award winners.


Special Teams Player of the Week

Ben Vongunten, Indiana Wesleyan         

So., K, Spencerville, Ind.

  • Vongunten netted a punting average of 48 yards big win over No. 14 Siena Heights
  • Weekly Stats:
    • Three of six punts landed inside the 20 yd line
    • Longest punt coming in at 58 yards
    • 2-for-2 on field goals (28 and 27-yards)


Defensive Player of the Week

Cameron Lauck, Indiana Wesleyan

Jr., DB, Cridersville, Ohio

  • Weekly Stats:
    • Nine total tackles
    • Two interceptions that led to Wildcat scoring drives
    • Contributed to the upset over No. 14 Siena Heights


Offensive Player of the Week

Hayden Gibson, Dickinson State (N.D.)

Sr., QB, Bismark, N.D.

  • Set school record in pass attempts, pass completions and pass yards.
  • Weekly Stats:
    • 524 passing yards
    • 63 pass attempts
    • 40 pass completions
    • Four pass touchdowns


Offensive Nominees: Aiden Wilder, Bluefield (Va.) ; Dwayne Milton, St. Francis (Ill.) ; John IsraelCooper, St. Thomas (Fla.) ; Randy Satterfield, Lyon (Ark.) ; Nate Simkins, Montana Western ; Tyson Kooima, Northwestern (Iowa) ; Dan Ricksy, Saint Francis (Ind.) ; Arties Clark, Pikeville (Ky.) ; Trenton Poe-Evans, Kansas Wesleyan ; Jd Woods, Baker (Kan.)

Defensive Nominees: 
Sam Morton, Evangel (Mo.) ; Starr Thompson, Georgetown (Ky.) ; Justin Wheeler, Wayland Baptist (Texas) ; Darius West, St. Andrews (N.C.) ; Colby Johnson, Ottawa (Kan.) ; Dylan Pope, Montana Western ; Joey Markasovic, Saint Xavier (Ill.) ; Moses Mertilus, Warner (Fla.) ; Chase Lipsys, Midland (Neb.) ; Arron Martin, Valley City State (N.D.)

Diamond Williams, Texas Wesleyan ; Dionte Rodgers, St. Francis (Ill.) ; John Brady, Peru State (Neb.) ; William Aldridge, Point (Ga.) ; Joseph Lema, Montana Western ; Gavin Gardner, Saint Francis (Ind.) ; Cameron Newsome, Waldorf (Iowa) ; Brett Zachman, Dordt (Iowa) ; David Larson, Southeastern (Fla.) ; Da'marco Canty, Thomas More (Ky.) ; Nick Navarro, Friends (Kan.)


2019-20 Football Composite Award Winners (Defensive, Offensive, )

Week 1 (September 11): Sage DeLong, Eastern Oregon , Connor Kaegi, Ottawa (Kan.) , Chase Van Wyck, Eastern Oregon
Week 2 (September 18): Joel Katzer, Morningside (Iowa) , Korbin Marcum, Culver-Stockton (Mo.) , Marquavis Myers, Southeastern (Fla.)
Week 3 (September 25): Joe Caicedo, Montana Western , LaShaun Rule, Olivet Nazarene (Ill.) , Nestor Higuera, Arizona Christian
Week 4 (October 02): Nikolas Furlow, Avila (Mo.) , Austin McCullough, Ottawa (Ariz.) (AZ) , Devon McMillin, Cumberlands (Ky.)
Week 5 (October 09): Landon Corolla, Georgetown (Ky.) , Charles Salary, Marian (Ind.) , Otis Odom, Reinhardt (Ga.)
Week 6 (October 16): Matt Swartz, Saint Francis (Ind.) , Davonte Williams, Webber International (Fla.) , Mike Iturbe, Saint Xavier (Ill.)
Week 7 (October 23): Sage Chen-Young, Keiser (Fla.) , Charles Salary, Marian (Ind.) , Kyle Mitchell, College of Idaho
Week 8 (October 30): Kole Murlin, Siena Heights (Mich.) , Darius-James Peterson, College of Idaho , Derek Mccormick, Ave Maria (Fla.)
Week 9 (November 06): Cameron Lauck, Indiana Wesleyan , Hayden Gibson, Dickinson State (N.D.) , Ben Vongunten, Indiana Wesleyan


Championship Information

NAIA Football Championship


April 17, 24, May 1, 2021
Football Championship Series
Campus Sites

May 10, 2021
Eddie G. Robinson Stadium
Grambling, La.