2019 NAIA Football Players of the Week - Week Two

2019 NAIA Football Players of the Week - Week Two

KANSAS CITY, MO. - Korbin Marcum of Culver-Stockton (Mo.) has been named the NAIA National Football Offensive Player of the Week and Joel Katzer of Morningside (Iowa) has been named the NAIA National Football Defensive Player of the Week and Marquavis Myers of Southeastern (Fla.) has been named the NAIA National Football Special Teams Player of the Week, the National office announced Tuesday.


Special Teams Player of the Week

Marquavis Myers, Southeastern (Fla.)

Jr., WR, Orlando, Fla.

  • Blocked two punts returning them for touchdowns
  • Myers accounted for nearly half of Southeastern’s 27 points

Defensive Player of the Week

Joel Katzer, Morningside (Iowa)

Sr., LB, Wellsville, KS

  • Recorded ten tackles (6 solo)
  • One and a half for seven yards in losses
  • Scored first collegiate career pick-six

Offensive Player of the Week

Korbin Marcum, Culver-Stockton (Mo.)

Jr., QB, Reno, Nev.

  • Tied his own school record with six touchdown passes
  • Completed first 14 passes of the game
  • Finished 33-of-41 (80.5 percent) for 513 yards

Offensive Nominees: 
Arnijae Ponder, Morningside (Iowa) ; Dwayne Milton, St. Francis (Ill.) ; Dorian Isaak, Kentucky Christian ; Johnny Feauto, Kansas Wesleyan ; Xondre Willis, Pikeville (Ky.) ; Bryant Dotson, SAGU (Texas) ; Robert Armes, St. Thomas (Fla.) ; Creighton Pfau, Mayville State (N.D.) ; Matthew Burgess, Carroll (Mont.)

Defensive Nominees: 
Sam Morton, Evangel (Mo.) ; Grant Torgerson, Southwestern (Kan.) ; Savohn Hunt, Ave Maria (Fla.) ; Drake Rodriguez, SAGU (Texas) ; Sebastian LeGarra, Reinhardt (Ga.) ; Jon Carrothers, Cumberland (Tenn.) ; Travyen Brownlee, Mayville State (N.D.) ; Joe Caicedo, Montana Western ; Mason DeLong, St. Francis (Ill.)

Markel Roby, Briar Cliff (Iowa) ; Jared Dougherty, Lindsey Wilson (Ky.) ; Ben VonGunten, Indiana Wesleyan ; Jaylan Moss, SAGU (Texas) ; Trey Palmer, Bethel (Kan.) ; Andre McCallop, Baker (Kan.) ; Landon Arredondo, Valley City State (N.D.) ; Mark Kharchenko, Montana Western ; Tanner Griffith, Bluefield (Va.)


2019-20 Football Composite Award Winners (Defensive, Offensive, )
Week 1 (September 11): Sage DeLong, Eastern Oregon , Connor Kaegi, Ottawa (Kan.) , Chase Van Wyck, Eastern Oregon
Week 2 (September 18): Joel Katzer, Morningside (Iowa) , Korbin Marcum, Culver-Stockton (Mo.) , Marquavis Myers, Southeastern (Fla.)


Championship Information

NAIA Football Championship

November 23, 30, Dec. 7, 2019
Football Championship Series
Campus Sites

December 21, 2019
Eddie G. Robinson Stadium
Ruston, La.