Qualifiers for 2020 Competitive Cheer Championship Announced

Qualifiers for 2020 Competitive Cheer Championship Announced

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – The National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) officially announced the qualifiers for the 2020 Competitive Cheer National Championship. The 12-team competition will get underway with preliminaries on March 13.

This year's field includes six automatic qualifiers, six at-large bids. The automatic qualifiers are determined by the winners of the qualifiers. At-Large positions will be awarded to the teams with the six highest Year End Scores that did not receive an automatic bid. Year End Scores are calculated by taking 40% of a team's season average plus 60% of a team's average qualifier score. St. Ambrose (Iowa) qualified as both the host and Northeast Qualifier Champion, which allowed for the sixth at-large berth. Click here for a breakdown of the selection process.

Qualifier Highlights

  • Defending national champions, Concordia (Mich.) will return to the 2020 championship with an at-large bid.
  • Oklahoma City, who was the first champion, 2018 runner-up and 2019 runner-up qualified as the Southwest Qualifier Champion.
  • Six of the 12 qualifying teams qualified for all three championships: Concordia (Mich.), Indiana Wesleyan, Lourdes (Ohio), Missouri Valley, Oklahoma City and St. Ambrose (Iowa).
  • Two of the 12 qualifying teams will compete in the national championship for the first time: Loyola (La.) and Point (Ga.)
  • Eight teams return to the championship for the second year in a row.
Institution Qualification Appearances Last Time Titles
Concordia (Mich.) At-Large Bid 4 2019 1
Cumberlands (Ky.) Mideast Qualifier Champion 2 2019 0
Indiana Wesleyan At-Large Bid 4 2019 0
Lourdes (Ohio) At-Large Bid 4 2019 0
Loyola (La.) At-Large Bid 1 0 0
Martin Methodist (Tenn.) Southeast Qualifier Champion 2 2018 0
Midland (Neb.) Northwest Qualifier Champion 2 2018 0
Missouri Valley Midwest Qualifier Champion 4 2019 1
Mobile (Ala.) At-Large Bid 2 2019 0
Oklahoma City (Okla.) Sothwest Qualifier Champion 4 2019 1
Point (Ga.) At-Large Bid 1 0 0
St. Ambrose (Iowa) Northeast Qualifier Champion 4 2019 0

Competition will begin on March 13 in Lee Lohman Arena on the campus of St. Ambrose University (Iowa).Teams at the Competitive Cheer and Dance National Championships will be competing on a level playing field as regular season and qualifier scores are not taken into consideration during the championships. 

Schedule of events CLICK HERE

Competitive cheer All-Americans will be announced on Tuesday, March 3rd at noon central time.

Championship Information

cheer and dance

March 11-12, 2022
Ypsilanti, Michigan